Dr KS Sanjivi Awards 2011 Presented

On the occasion of Doctors Day EKAM Foundation and Udhavum Ullangal Public Charitable Trust honored six doctors and two institutions for their matchless dedication to the practice of medicine as a human service vocation and have a track record of non-commercial services to the poor and the needy without compromising on professional excellence. They were conferred with the prestigious Dr. K. S. Sanjivi Award which recognizes them for their untiring efforts in serving the underprivileged.

Dr. K. S. Sanjivi Award was instituted in 2004 to honour Dr. K.S. Sanjivi, who was the founder of Voluntary Health Services and a pioneer of Community Health Care Services and a visionary in the concept of Community Health.So far 55 doctors and 12 institutions have been honourned with KS Sanjivi Award.  The Award Ceremony was held at Kumararani Meena Muthiah College of Arts and Science, Adyar today.

The Chief Guest, Dr. V shantha, Executive Chairperson, Cancer Institute honored the awardees.

Prof. Dr.N.Rangabshayam, Gastroenterologist, Ramana Clinic, Dr. S. Bhaskaran, Chairman, Sankara Nethralaya. Shri D.J. Parthasarathy – Vice President Sales and Marketing TTK Health Care Ltd were the guests of honour.

A committee comprising of the doctors, trustees of EKAM and Udhavum Ullangal and past Awardees selected the current year’s Awardees. The Award included a laser-etched trophy with the figure of Dr. K. S Sanjivi and a citation detailing the awardees' services.


  1. Dr. Arvind Krishnamurthy – Surgical Oncologist, Chennai
  2. Dr. Arun Seshachalam – Medical Oncologist, Trichy
  3. Dr. T.S Chandrashekhar – Medical Gastroenterology and International Endoscopy, Chennai.
  4. Dr. P. Gunasekaran – Preventive Medicine, Chennai
  5. Dr. R. RamakrishnanOpthamologist, Tirunelveli



  1. Cure Trust and Research Centre – Dindukal
  2. SHIFA Free Hospital - Erode



Dr. N. Krishnaswamy – Allergy & General Medicine, Chennai